Witchtrap, new album “Evil Strikes Again” out on October 30th

Today, Hells Headbangers sets October 30th as the international release date for Witchtrap‘s long-awaited fifth album, Witchtrap, on CD, vinyl LP, and cassette tape formats.

By now, the Colombian power-trio of Witchtrap should require no introduction. Since 1992, these maniacs have been flying the flag of hate for evil thrash and speed metal with no compromise and no quarter given. Across four full-lengths and more than twice as many EPs, demos, and splits, Witchtrap has perfected a sound that’s eminently classic but undeniably their own. Their energy is utterly addicting; simply put, Witchtrap is equally evil and fun.

Poignant proof is Witchtrap‘s fifth album, Evil Strikes Again, now finding finding worldwide release courtesy of longtime fans/supporters Hells Headbangers. Released earlier this year on CD in South America via the band’s own Dirty Sound Records, Evil Strikes Again might be Witchtrap‘s first new recording in five years, but it sounds like it could’ve come swiftly after career-apex predecessor Trap the Witch.

If that album was the penultimate Witchtrap experience, then Evil Strikes Again handily eclipses that feat: leaner, meaner, and almost effortless in its energetic rush.

Naturally, the foundation of Endless Pain-meets-Evil Invaders is as firm as ever, but once again do the power-trio maximize the latent rock ‘n’ roll feeling that informed so much early thrash and speed metal, making each of these nine tracks (plus intro) as catchy as the next.

Likewise, as doubtlessly suggested by the album’s title, Witchtrap continues to maximize the EVIL, perhaps most proven by the trifecta of “Return to Hell,” “The Devil’s on the Loose,” and “Dealing With Satan”.

And it wouldn’t be Witchtrap without a timely reminder of this artform’s enduring values with “Death to False Metal.” Evil Strikes Again in-fucking-deed!

Hear for yourself below, by streaming Evil Strikes Again in its entirety at Hells Headbangers’ Bandcamp, where the album can be preordered.


  1. Fatal Litanies / Midnight Rites [05:44]
  2. Evil Strikes Again [04:19]
  3. Return to Hell [04:01]
  4. The Devil’s on the Loose [04:45]
  5. Dealing with Satan [03:39]
  6. Madness and Poison [04:21]
  7. Death to False Metal [04:01]
  8. Born to Kill [04:21]
  9. Rhyme of the Insane [04:17]


When you need metal, go to hell!

Buy the new Necrophobic album "Dawn of the Damned"
Advertisement @ Swedish Metal!   Advertise @ Swedish Metal?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: