Malakhim, new album “Theion”, out in January, release the first single

The Swedish black metal band Malakhim will release their full-length debut album “Theion” on January 8th, 2021 on CD and vinyl LP through Iron Bonehead Productions.

The band released the first track, “The Splendour of Stillborn Stars” today, listen to it below, or HERE at Iron Bonehead‘s official YouTube channel. 

Formed in 2017 and hailing from Sweden, Malakhim‘s ascent has been meteoric if not patient. First came the band’s self-released debut demo, which Iron Bonehead then released on CD and vinyl in 2018, furthering the Malakhim name and whetting appetites for yet more mastery. Still, for a first recording, Demo I indeed breathed mastery: patiently unfolding vortexes of orthodox black metal with more than a bit of death metalled muscle, all in obeisance to the powers of The Beyond, and coalescing into a fever-dreaming fury of hellish hysteria.

Malakhim may’ve been new in name, but there in fact exists a wealth of experience in their ranks, and that name stands on its own merits. And they swiftly proved that with the four-song/21-minute mini-album II, released during the spring of 2019 via Iron Bonehead. No great changes took place in Malakhim‘s iron-clad sound, but the quintet continued to flesh it out in bolder, more Beyond-pushing shapes. Anticipation for a debut full-length hit a fever pitch, and understandably so.

At last, it arrives in the form of Theion. Immediately and mesmerizingly sounding like the Malakhim of the past two short-lengths, Theion strikes with precision and purpose, clarity and crush. One could say, quite rightly, that the album is the pinnacle of orthodox black metal for the rest of the 2020s and leave it at that – and that one would be right. Yet, step deeper into Theion and find a majestic-yet-malevolent melodicism that harkens back to the ancient days of No Fashion and Solistitium; just as equally, that melodicism twists in unexpected ways, exuding a modernity that’s palpable, palatable, and exceptionally multi-faceted. Likewise, the quintet’s songwriting explores all reaches of the sonic spectrum, from slipstreaming speed to rumbling repose – if anything, their aggression has gotten altogether nastier – and all is encased in a richly 3D production that’s professional and powerful, dynamically detailed but without losing any urgency. Or, simply, the sum effect of Theion could be personified in the song title “The Splendour of Stillborn Stars”…

Suitably, the album is graced with evocative cover art courtesy of Mitchell Nolte. Rejoice, rejoice! The hammer of Satan is falling, and the empire is crumbling: in its place stands the towering monument of Malakhim‘s Theion.


1. There is a Beacon [6:57]
2. Merciless Angel of Pestilence [3:56]
3. Slither O Serpent [5:22]
4. Chalice of Ruin [5:02]
5. His Voiceless Whisper [4:56]
6. Hammer of Satan [3:39]
7. The Splendour of Stillborn Stars [5:08]
8. Theion [6:01]


SWEDISH METAL - Black Metal & Death Metal
This is the ultimate Spotify playlist only including Swedish black and death metal (+ a few heavy/thrash metal) tracks. Hit play and listen to bands like Bathory, Dismember, Dissection, Entombed, Watain, Hypocrisy, Marduk, Edge of Sanity, Valkyrja, Evocation and many more!

Buy Darkened – Kingdom of Decay @ CdOn!
Advertisement @ Swedish Metal!   Advertise @ Swedish Metal?

Black Metal 2020
Various black metal tunes released in 2020... There may be a few blackened death metal, dark metal and similar tracks in this list as well.. Enjoy the music and support the bands, buy the physical albums!
BLACK METAL - Highlights from the past & present
A Spotify playlist that will highlight black metal songs from the past and present. The list will change and not just be filled with new songs. Maybe you catch something that you have missed through this list? Spred, listen & buy physical albums!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: