Dark Tranquillity, new album “Atoma” released

The new album “Atoma” with the melodic death metal band Dark Tranquillity have been released today. “Atoma” have been recorded in the band’s own Rogue Music Studio, mixed by David Castillo (Katatonia, Opeth, Candlemass) and mastered by Jens Bogren (Amon Amarth, Amorphis), songs like “The Pitiless” shine with strong riffs and guitar melodies whereas the title track and “Forward Momentum” show Stanne’s vocal range from clean to growl. The band just started their North American tour together with Sonata Arctica. Check out the bands official website for more details.

A limited-edition double CD will be available as a digipak in North America and as a mediabook in Europe. The bonus disc features the songs “The Absolute” and “Time Out Of Place” that showcase a very different side of the band. Recorded and mixed by Anders Lagerfors at Nacksving studios, these tracks are among the darkest and most brooding ever from the band — but their experimental nature make them far removed from the usual metal territory.

The band explains: “A lot of our songs start out as pieces of music written on piano/keyboards before getting transformed into guitar driven metal. With this recording, we wanted to explore what would happen if we instead let the material take another direction, and we’re extremely thrilled by the result.”

These songs will exclusively be available on the physical deluxe edition of “Atoma” and won’t appear on the digital edition of the album. A vinyl seven-inch single is planned for early 2017.

The gatefold vinyl LP will contain the 12 track CD and is available in different vinyl colors:

* Black vinyl: worldwide
* Blue vinyl: limited to 400 copies exclusive through Bengans in Sweden
* Dark Green: limited to 200 copies exclusive through CDon in Scandinavia
* Clear vinyl: limited to 400 copies in North America
* Transparent Blue vinyl: limited to 300 copies exclusive through cmdistro.com in North America
* Transparent Red vinyl: limited to 200 copies exclusive available through cmdistro.com in Europe

dark-tranquillity-atoma“Atoma” track listing:
01. Encircled
02. Atoma
03. Forward Momentum
04. Neutrality
05. Force Of Hand
06. Faithless By Default
07. The Pitiless
08. Our Proof Of Life
09. Clearing Skies
10. When The World Screams
11. Merciless Fate
12. Caves And Embers

Listen to Atoma on Spotify:


SWEDISH METAL - Black Metal & Death Metal
This is the ultimate Spotify playlist only including Swedish black and death metal (+ a few heavy/thrash metal) tracks. Hit play and listen to bands like Bathory, Dismember, Dissection, Entombed, Watain, Hypocrisy, Marduk, Edge of Sanity, Valkyrja, Evocation and many more!

Buy Darkened – Kingdom of Decay @ CdOn!
Advertisement @ Swedish Metal!   Advertise @ Swedish Metal?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: